title renamed from "Default merge style preference"
I'm not sure where this preference should go. In repository settings? Or per-user? How far should we go? (e.g. merge commit message placeholder, default committer signatures, etc)
semi-related: #4733
we can just remember the last used merge-style per repository on clients IMO.